Tony Briggs

Typecast entertainment Leader

Tony is a Yorta Yorta/Wurundjeri (Woiwuurung) First Nations film practitioner. The creator and writer of feature film ‘The Sapphires’ which premiered at the Cannes Film Festival 2012. He received two AWGIE awards and it also won 11 of 12 categories at AACTA 2013. He previously wrote ‘The Sapphires’ Play, with sell-out seasons at the MTC and Belvoir, winning two Helpmann Awards. Tony is co-originator, executive producer and writer of the eight part TV series ‘The Warriors’ (2016). As an actor of over 20 years he holds many credits to his name in The Slap (2010), Broken Shore (2013), Cleverman (2015), Seven Types of Ambiguity (2017) and Rake (2018). He is currently Artistic Director of Birrarangga Film Festival showcasing Indigenous films from across the Globe and Produced 2 talks at ACMI as part of the ‘In Conversation’ Series.


Dr David Court

Compton school

David was previously Head of Screen Business at the Australian Film Television & Radio School, where he led the highly regarded Masters of Screen Arts & Business program. He has been involved in the financing of more than a dozen film and television productions including Baz Luhrmann’s Strictly Ballroom, Dean Cavell’s The Wiggles Movie and Andrew Horne’s The Animated Leunig. As author of Film Assistance: Future Options (Allen & Unwin, 1986), he was policy architect of the Film Finance Corporation established by the Australian Government in 1988. David holds a PhD from the Crawford School of Public Policy at the Australian National University.


Jon Staley

youthworx leader

Jon Staley is a Producer, Writer, Director and Social Entrepreneur and has been involved in establishing Youthworx. Over the past decade Jon has successfully overseen the development and production of over 400 commissioned short films for a wide range of organisations while training and mentoring young people as film producers. Most recently Jon co-wrote and directed the short film Brown Paper Bag (winner Best Indigenous Film at the StKilda Film Festival 2017) based on a story by acclaimed indigenous author and storyteller Boori Monty Pryor. In 2000 Jon was awarded the inaugural Peter Clarke Teaching for Reconciliation Award based on his work with the community at Northland.